Confessions of an Overly Opinionated Marketing Student

A great WordPress.com site

In my World ( Only my opinion matters. . )

on November 1, 2013

Giraffe. Heart. Martini. I like it on the couch. 

Um, What? 

Yes, generally these things don’t go together. Unless of course, you are overly familiar with the use of social media trends. Some find them cute, some are beyond annoying and some are flat out stupid. In my opinion anyway and in my world my opinion means a lot. 

Just last week, I logged onto my facebook and was a tad annoyed that every other friend on facebook had a picture of a giraffe. Don’t get me wrong, they’re adorable. But I don’t want to see one every two seconds while I scroll down my page. i knew this meant only one thing – a new facebook trend had begun. Sure enough, after only about thirty more second on scrolling, I found it. The giraffe riddle. The riddle goes like this: 

“It’s 3am, the doorbell rings and you wake up. Unexpected visitors, it’s your parents and they’re there for breakfast. You have strawberry jam, honey, wine, bread and cheese. What’s the first thing you open?” 

my first thought, who the hell cares? And what the heck does it do with a giraffe? To be honest, I didn’t care enough to look. But for the sake of this blog, I did a little research. According to the site “Know Your Meme” it was created by a vlogger Andrew Strugnell who created a video on youtube and a facebook page to promote the challenge. But why? I never found the answer. Fun? Hardly. 

To me, the answer was clear: your eyes. Turns out. I was correct. And therefore I was sparred the horror of being a giraffe on facebook as my profile picture. That’s all there is to it: answer right and youre not a giraffe. Well thanks Andrew Strugnell. 

This isn’t the first one and it won’t be the last. Previously to promote breast cancer awareness, women on facebook were inboxed and asked to write in their status where they liked to place their purse. On the couch. On the table, etc, etc. 

“I like it on the couch” confused men around the facebook world scratched their craniums. Nice idea, but in reality doesn’t do much. 

So why do people do these things? I guess it’s the whole idea of inclusion. Or a lemming effect. Who knows? I personally would love to live in a world where I don’t have to see them. but then again, it’s not my world. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

